6 ways to enjoy the holidays while living abroad

Many of my students are away from their families and homes this year for the first time over Christmas. Christmas may not be a festival that they celebrate, but it’s hard to be away from your loved ones during a holiday season and these are good ideas! My favourite custom when I lived in Viet nam was buying a fully cooked and prepared turkey dinner from a hotel to share with as many people as possible. It was just over $100, with all of the fixings and a bottle of wine, and over 20 of us shared it one year.

Live, Travel, Teach

Here are 6 simple ways to brighten your holidays if you are a long way from home!

This year I’ll be celebrating my holidays outside of the United States for the first time.  Heck its my first time really being away from home!   Yeah, sure I was away from home at college near Boston I always managed to get back to New Jersey before the last decorations were hung.

I first realized how different the holidays would be in Seoul during Thanksgiving.  Okay, so maybe I ate Turkey three times that weekend but it wasn’t as good as my family’s usual feast and what REALLY makes the holiday is of course, family.  That being said I am grateful for my work family and friends here for helping me feel at home while living nearly 7000 miles away from my folks.

CAM01068

1) Celebrate and spend time with fellow expats.  

View original post 754 more words

By elleninsaigon Posted in esl

One comment on “6 ways to enjoy the holidays while living abroad

  1. Certainly are some great ideas! Thanks for the reblog 🙂

    Your Vietnam holidays sound like a great idea and I may just steal that custom.

Leave a Reply

