Green smoothies to start your day right (50-day resolution #3)

I mentioned a while back that I made 3 50-day resolutions.  The more-blogging resolution has kind of been on “pause”, but I’ve continued with my health-related resolutions: daily planking and green smoothies.  I was already having smoothies a few times a week, but I decided to try making it a 50-day thing, so that I would get a good dose of fruit and vegetables, Omega 3 fat, fibre, and probiotics to start my day.  It’s been a good way to start my day.

I was inspired at first by my friend, Andrea, who posted this on her blog:

http://andreaworks.wordpress.com/2013/11/14/green-smoothie-in-2-steps/

Andrea’s diet is a bit different than mine, but I liked the idea of making green food an important part of my breakfast.  As you can see by my photos, I always add a seed for fibre and Omega 3 fat (flax, chia, or hemp).  I also add Greek yogurt, for the calcium and the good bacteria that it contains.  Frozen fruit gives the smoothie a nice texture, and it’s available all year round.

The flexi-foodie blogged about cancer-fighting foods, and one of the comments gave me the idea to include turmeric in the smoothie, because it has so many health benefits.

http://theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/2013/11/16/seven-cancer-fighting-foods/

Anyway, I just use a simple stick blender to mix everything together and it doesn’t take long.  The smoothie tastes great, and fills me up for most of the morning.  I try to eat well all day, but if I eat “junk food” later in the day, at least I’ve already eaten one really healthy meal.  Let me know if there are other ingredients you like in a morning smoothie!

By elleninedmonton Posted in esl

2 comments on “Green smoothies to start your day right (50-day resolution #3)

  1. I made smoothies a lot in the summer, but seem to have forgotten about them. Time to get back on the wagon, I think. I liked the 2 step smoothie you linked to, as well.

    I was using a banana, frozen strawberries and blueberries, sometimes apple juice, sometimes orange juice, sometimes milk or kefir or yogurt (not on the same day as the citrus, though). When I tried the green smoothies, I used kale and spinach; they were great; not so ‘green’ tasting as I’d expected. Pineapple goes well with them, as does apple juice.

    Mow that we are working our way through two 40 pound boxes of apples, I think I’ll look at adding one of them to the mix, too.

    Thanks for the great ideas, Ellen. ~ Linne

Leave a Reply

