Gallery

Victoria, Vancouver Island Vacation Visit

One of the literary techniques that we learn about in English classes for native English speakers is “alliteration”, using the same starting letter for a series of words in your writing.  I used a lot of Vs in my title, in case you didn’t notice!

Our school was closed for 2 weeks at Christmas time, so it was a great time for me to go visit my sister and her family in Victoria, on Vancouver Island.  I’ve been visiting family there for more than 25 years, so there are things that I always want to do when I arrive, like having dim sum (Chinese brunch) at Don Mee’s.  Victoria has one of the oldest Chinatowns in North America, since immigrants often started there, before coming farther east across the country.  I arrived on Christmas Day, and the airports weren’t too busy, but the restaurant sure was!

I did a lot of walking around the city for the first few days, and then my sister and I went up-island, to see some other areas: Goldstream, Cowichan Bay, Genoa Bay, Chemainus, Fanny Bay, Nanaimo, Parksville, Courtenay, and Cumberland, where we stayed at Riding Fool Hostel.  There were a lot of wonderful places to eat and drink along the way, with bakeries, cafes, wineries and cideries to visit.  After returning to Victoria, we spent another day exploring several breweries in the city.  The weather was grey, cool, and damp the whole time I was there.  Because it was above freezing, it was easy to get outside, but I was really very happy to see the sun and snow again when I got back to Edmonton on New Year’s Day!

Leave a Reply

