On the Weekend (At the Weekend in the UK): In/On/At Exercise

Image

Prepositions are tricky words when you study a new language.  We use in, on, and at to describe times, as well as locations, and you’ll have to memorize the general idea, in order to use the correct word at the correct time.  Here is a description of my weekend activities, including the times, and the locations,  Try to choose the correct words at first, and then check my answers below.  Sometimes, either “in” or “at” will be ok to use.

 

Time

Activity

Location

1

____ Friday ____ 6 o’clock ____ the morning

I went running

____ Emily Murphy Hill ____ Emily Murphy Park ____ the southside, near the University.

2

____ Friday ____ 1:30 ____ the afternoon

I went climbing

____ VIRG (Virtually Inclined Rock Gym) ____ the southside, ____ Argyll Road.

3

____ Friday ____ 7 pm ____ the evening

I went to a paddling meeting

____ a small hall ____ the southside, near Southgate Mall

4

____ Saturday ____ 10:30 ____ the morning

I went snowshoeing

____ Strathcona Wilderness Centre ____ Baseline Road ____ Strathcona County.

5

____ Saturday ____ 1 o’clock ____ the afternoon

I went for lunch

____ Clever Rabbit Restaurant ____ the northside, ____ 124 Street.

6

____ Saturday ____ night

I stayed at home

____ my apartment, ____ Oliver, near downtown.

7

____ Sunday ____ 10 o’clock ____ the morning

I taught a class

____ a house ____ Magrath ____ the southside.

8

____ Sunday ____ 1:30 ____ the afternoon

I went snowshoeing

____ the trails ____ Hawrelak Park ____ the River Valley.

9

____ Sunday ____ 6 o’clock ____ the evening

I went for supper

____ Veggie House Restaurant ____ 101 Street, near downtown.

10

____ Sunday ____ 8 o’clock ____ the evening

I went to sleep

____ bed ____ my apartment, downtown.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Time

Activity

Location

1

On Friday at 6 o’clock in the morning

I went running

on Emily Murphy Hill at Emily Murphy Park on the southside, near the University.

2

On Friday at 1:30 in the afternoon

I went climbing

at VIRG (Virtually Inclined Rock Gym) on the southside, on Argyll Road.

3

On Friday at 7 pm in the evening

I went to a paddling meeting

at a small hall on the southside, near Southgate Mall.

4

On Saturday at 10:30 in the morning

I went snowshoeing

at Strathcona Wilderness Centre on Baseline Road in Strathcona County.

5

On Saturday at 1 o’clock in the afternoon

I went for lunch

at Clever Rabbit Restaurant on the northside, on 124 Street.

6

On Saturday at night

I stayed at home

in my apartment, in Oliver, near downtown.

7

On Sunday ____ 10 o’clock in the morning

I taught a class

at/in a house in Magrath on the southside.

8

On Sunday at 1:30 in the afternoon

I went snowshoeing

on the trails at Hawrelak Park in the River Valley.

9

On Sunday at 6 o’clock in the evening

I went for supper

at Veggie House Restaurant on 101 Street, near downtown.

10

On Sunday at 8 o’clock in the evening

I went to sleep

in bed at/in my apartment, downtown.

 

 

Leave a Reply

