If I had/hadn’t: students use “Third Conditional”

Using conditionals correctly can be quite confusing until you get the hang of it, but it can make your conversation so much more interesting when you can talk about what would be different if something had or hadn’t happened.   Here, students use third conditional to talk about what would have happened if they hadn’t come to Canada, or if they’d stayed at home.Image

If I hadn’t come to Canada…

I would have worked in Australia or New Zealand.

I wouldn’t have known a wonderful people.

I wouldn’t have tried skating.

I wouldn’t have known a beautiful country.

If I’d stayed in my home country…

I would have stayed with my family during the holidays.

I would have been in a summer with 30C.

I would have had a weekend on the beach with friends.

I would have worked on weekends.

If I’d known …

about my expired visa, I would have applied for a temporary resident visa beforehand.

more about the Edmonton weather, I would have bought a better jacket here.

If I hadn’t come to Canada, I would have spent much more time with my parents.

If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have been able to meet people from different countries.

If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have enriched my English skills.

If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have had the chance to travel a lot.

If I hadn’t come to Canada, I would have been able to meet my friends often.

If I’d stayed in my home country, I wouldn’t have been able to get a job very easily.

If I’d stayed in my home country, winter would have been warmer than in Canada.

If I’d known that British Columbia was so beautiful, I would have visited it earlier.

If I’d known I would move to Canada, I would have learned English before.

If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have been able to attend this class.

If I …

 

  • If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have gotten the international experience that I need to level up my Consultant career.
  • If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have practiced my English skills with locals and foreigners.
  • If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have had the experience of skating on a frozen lake and being in the middle of the Rockies.
  • If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have met new people and faced the many accents that the English language can have.
  • If I hadn’t come to Canada, I wouldn’t have eaten bison.
  • If I’d stayed in my home country, I wouldn’t have been in the snow and felt how the real cold is.
  • If I’d stayed in my home country, I would have hung out with my close friends.
  • If I’d stayed in my home country, my mom wouldn’t have been worried everyday.
    • If I’d known that I have to move my apartment many times, I would have booked a room at Alberta Suites hotel until the agent could arrange the right accommodation for me.
    • If I’d stayed in my home country, I probably wouldn’t have known English.
    • Previously, I studied four languages, but I never studied English.
    • I wouldn’t have known new and interesting people from around the world, if I had stayed in my home country.
    • I lived in Ireland and in England, and now I live in Canada.
    • If I hadn’t lived in these countries, I wouldn’t have known live these people and their customs.
    • Our lives are more interesting, if we have the possibility to get to know more places in the world and to meet people from other cultures and other languages.

Leave a Reply

