5 steps to achieving your New Year’s resolutions | PhraseMix.com

I’ve included a lot of posts on my blog about setting goals, and establishing good habits.  Aaron has an amazing blog with a new English phrase or expression every day.  One excellent English-learning habit would be to take 5 minutes every morning to read about the phrase of the day, and then see if you can use it in conversation by the end of the day.

For me, I have a couple of big goals: adventure and socializing.  I can often combine them, by being a part of groups/clubs, like November Project Canada, Ceyana Canoe, and various Meetup groups.  I want to maintain my habit of physical activity at least 5 days/week.  Since my fitness application (MapMyRun) says that I did 412 workouts in 2014, this has been going pretty well for me.  Quite a few of them included biking or walking to work, but each trip was a mile (1.6K) long, so it all helps me to stay active.

It’s important to identify barriers to achieving your goals, so that you can build habits to eliminate those barriers.  I have a bad habit that interferes with socializing: I let my dirty dishes pile up for a week or more at a time.  It’s pretty gross, but I can ignore it a lot of the time.  So, one of my first resolutions is to wash my dishes every day (at least 5 days/week) for January.  Hopefully, that’s long enough to establish the good habit.

Why is learning English important to you?  Does it break down barriers for some of the big goals in your life?  If it does, think of small habits that you can build, to help you to achieve your language-learning goals.

5 steps to achieving your New Year’s resolutions | PhraseMix.com.

Leave a Reply

