Introduce yourself!

Meeting new people is interesting!

Meeting new people is interesting!

Once you can ask people important questions like, “Where is the bathroom?”, one of the most important skills in a new language is introducing yourself.  In all of my classes, I ask students to introduce themselves (not “present” themselves) every time there’s a new student in class.  It’s obviously awkward for many students, even after plenty of practice.  Remember that when you feel awkward, the person you are talking to will often feel awkward and uncomfortable, as well.  Take time to practice a “script” that you can use, whenever you meet someone new.  The main information they will want is your name, your occupation, and your country of origin.  If you include a little bit more, like hobbies, family information, or personality, it will help the 2 of you have some ideas about what to talk about, next time you both meet.  Make eye contact with the person you are meeting, smile, and don’t speak too quickly.  Practice makes perfect!

Remember to listen when other people introduce themselves.  Find out something that you can ask them about later on.  If it’s your first time with a new group of people, it’s a good idea to write down their names, and 1-2 things about each person.  If you forget someone’s name, tell them you forgot, and ask them to tell you again.  People really like to hear their own name, so try to use it soon after you meet someone.  It will be easier to remember that way.

tell someone about yourself, and find out about them.

tell someone about yourself, and find out about them.

Let me introduce myself

• Hi, my name’s …………… OR Hello, I’m …………… (full name)
• You can call me OR Please call me ……………
(nickname, given name, English name)
• I’m from …………… (city, country)
• My first language is …………… and
I’ve studied English for …………… (length of time) at/in …………… (school/location)
• I’ve lived in Canada for…………… (length of time) OR
since …………… (date, year, month)
• I’m … years old. (This is NOT necessary information,
but it’s okay if you’re comfortable sharing)
• I’m a/an …………… (occupation)
• I’m working as …………… (occupation) at …………… (employer)
• I’m a …………… (faculty/ level) student at …………. (eg. University of Alberta)
• I study English because ……………
• In this class, I hope to/need to ……………
• I’m married/single/a mom/dad/engaged/single (This is NOT necessary information, but it’s okay if you’re comfortable sharing)
• There are … people in my family.
• They are …………… (locations, occupations, personality
• My father is a …………… and my mother is a ………………
• My hobby is …………………..
• In my free time, I also like ……………
• I don’t like …………………………
• My favourite sport is …………………..
• I enjoy eating/drinking ……………
• My favourite singer (or band/kind of music) is ……………..
• I like …………….. (movies).

Jobs

teacher policeman doctor
nurse builder architect
civil servant engineer social worker
secretary businessman shop assistant
manager fire fighter shopkeeper
cleaner postman waiter/waitress

Hobbies – Free time activities

• reading, painting, drawing
• playing computer games
• surfing the Internet
• doing yoga
• going to the cinema
• playing with friends
• playing soccer/tennis/golf
• going to the park/beach/…
• listening to music
• shopping, singing, dancing
• travelling, camping, hiking

Movies

action movie
comedy
romantic comedy
horror movie
sci-fi movie
war movie
thriller
animated cartoons

Because…
• … I like it a lot.
• … I think it’s important.
• … there are many things to see and do.
• … I have to.
• … it’s relaxing/popular/nice/…
• … it’s a lot of fun
• … it’s interesting

Here is a video with some nice, short introductions.  They don’t use contractions (I’m), which almost all Canadians will do when meeting someone new.

http://twominenglish.com/video/2-Introducing_Yourself_in_English_Learn_to_speak_english.html

Leave a Reply

