Differences between my country and Edmonton for me

Snowy winter river valley

Snowy winter river valley

Students in Intermediate A were learning about “Can” and “Have to”, and they were interested in comparing Edmonton and their hometowns.  I think they did an excellent job!

First, I like to live in Edmonton, but I love Brazil. I like to stay here because I can study English, work and meet new people. In Brazil, I can’t study English and work. The English schools in my country are pretty bad and when I studied in University, I was so busy.

In Brazil, I had a big apartment and a car. Here I have a small apartment and I don’t have a car. This is terrible for me because I love having a big space and driving a car.

I enjoy visiting my family every year. In my country, I could visit my family and eat different types of food at my mom’s house. In Edmonton, this is difficult for me. I’m a Christian, and I like to go to church, but here I can’t go a lot. In my country, I could usually go to church.

I’m fine here too. Living here has positive and negative points for my life.


 

Hi, I’m new here. Now I live in Canada, and before I lived in Spain. When I lived in Spain, I had three dogs, but in Canada I don’t have dogs. In Spain, I had a house in the country, but in Canada, I have a house in the city. In Spain, I could see my family every day, but in Canada I can’t see my family every day. In Spain, I could always speak Spanish, but in Canada I can’t always speak Spanish. In Spain, I could understand everything, but in Canada I can’t understand everything. But I have wanted to learn English, and here, I can do it!!!


 

Differences between Edmonton and Bogota:

Not all of the differences between my home and Edmonton are about the climate. Many things are very different, such as the food, the clothing, and the culture. As Colombia is in the tropics there aren’t any seasons, but in Edmonton, the year has seasons.
• In Colombia, I can wear the same clothing all year, but in Edmonton, it depends on the season.
• In Colombia, I can’t ski, but in Edmonton, I can ski while it’s winter.
• In Colombia, I can find many fruits while in Edmonton I can buy some fruits.
• In Edmonton, I can move around the city very fast and quietly, while in Bogota, Colombia, transportation is complicated and slow, so I can’t move around quickly.
• In Edmonton, I can’t wake up with the sunrise while in Colombia, I can wake up at sunrise.


 

When I stayed in Poland, I had to study all day and I had more free time, let’s say two weeks. I was driving in Germany and I had to work all day. In Canada, I have to study English all day. It’s good for me. I can’t work here, because I am on a Visitor Visa. In Poland and Germany, I can see my parents, my brother and my friends. Here I can’t see them, so I have to use Skype to talk to them. In Poland, I didn’t have time to learn English, but here I can learn it all the time, when I’m going to school, on the metro and bus, in shops, at school, and at home. Everywhere, there is English. In Canada, I have time for myself. I can grow and learn new things. For example, I can play golf, I can ski, and I can go ice skating. I can travel, and Canada is beautiful. I love this place. In Poland, I haven’t time for travel, because I always study and work. Here I can read more books and here they change me. I would like to stay here because I can do so much here! ☺


 

Differences between Edmonton and Spain

In Spain, we can swim in the rivers in summer and in Edmonton, we can’t swim in the rivers because they’re too cold. In Spain, we can use the metro, but in Edmonton, we can’t use the metro, because we don’t have it. In Edmonton, we can play rugby on the street, but in Spain, we can’t play rugby on the street because we don’t have curbs. In Spain, we had the Olympics in Barcelona, and in Canada, they had the Olympics in Montreal, in Calgary, and in Vancouver.

When I lived in my country, I had to work all day. Here, I only study English in the mornings, and two afternoons a week. I can’t work because I have a tourist visa and I don’t speak English very well.


 

In Argentina, I saw my family in the evenings and on weekends. Spending time together was normal. Now, I can’t see them in person, and I have to speak to them on Skype or WhatsApp. However, in Canada I have a different experience. I can meet many other people, and I can travel to my country to see my family.

When I was an adolescent, I wanted to know snow but now I think when it’s snowing, it’s nice for the first two days. After that, I’d prefer to see the snow on TV. It is so cold and snow is not my favourite thing about Canada, but with positive thoughts, I think I can handle it. I don’t like to go out to ski or sled, or go walking in the snow, but when I stay inside for this I really enjoy these moments.

In my province, the temperature is never minus zero and in winter, you don’t have to wear a coat. The climate is so hot, but here, I have to wear very warm clothes for the winter, and it’s truly cold.

In my city, I don’t have to speak another language. It is not a tourist city and is very strange to meet people from other cultures. Here, I have to learn English and I have the opportunity to get to know interesting people.


 

Hello! I came to Edmonton from Kiev, Ukraine. Kiev is the capital of Ukraine. Edmonton and Kiev are different cities, but sometimes, they are very similar. Kiev and Edmonton are both located on the banks of a river. The river in Ukraine is called the Dnieper. Here it is as beautiful as it is in Kiev. A lot of my friends live in Ukraine, and I really miss them. I hope that in Edmonton, I can find a lot of friends.

I graduated from Kiev University, and in Edmonton I want to continue to learn. Now, I am learning English.


 

Hi,
When I left Africa (DRC) for Europe (France) and I arrived in France, I experienced many changes. The climate changed because there are 4 seasons. I discovered the metro and high-speed train, and then I had the ease of traveling by car or train in France. Now that I’ve been in Canada for 5 months of this, it is still a very great discovery and a big change.

I like Canada because people are nice and I like the city of Edmonton, too. There are differences; for example in France, we can’t pass another car on the right but in Canada it’s normal. In France, the speeds are so fast on the road, but not here, where drivers take their time driving. In France, I used the Euro, and here, the Canadian dollar is very complicated. In Edmonton, there are not many trains, and when I want to travel, I usually have to use a plane. Winter is really different here than in Europe, so I hope I’ll get used to it.

Thanks


 

Hi Sugar,
How are you? I miss you very much! I have been here for a year in Edmonton. I like it very much. Edmonton traffic is very convenient because is not as crowded as Dalian, China. And people here are very polite and friendly. But it is cold in winter, and it is not as warm as Dalian. The clothes here are not as fashionable or beautiful as in Dalian. Even so, I like the city.

In Edmonton, I can take part in English learning, I can go to church, go shopping, I can go to the gym, and go skiing. But I cannot work here because I am on a tourist visa. So, I cannot work and I cannot drive here because the Chinese drivers’ license cannot be used here. These things are not the same as in Dalian.

In Edmonton, I have to do everything I can, and if I do, if I stay positive, then I have a shot at a silver lining. I don’t have to work hard. Ha ha!

Take care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

