Some/Any/Every/No

One of the things that can be complicated in English is using “any/some/no and every”, both as part of compound words like everywhere or nobody, as well as on their own.  Take some time to watch a couple music videos to listen for the words, and take a good look at the grammar that is used.  Unfortunately, the video for “Everybody” that shows the band singing is very poor quality, so it’s easier to just listen to the song and pay attention to the words.  “Somebody to Love” was a hit by the super-group “Queen”.  Their songs were written by the lead singer, Freddie Mercury and guitarist Brian May.  Freddie Mercury died in 1991, so their songs are not new, but they’re still very popular.

 

STABILO LYRICS

“Everybody”
Doesn’t _______________ know how to walk ____________?
Doesn’t _______________  know what a radio is for?
Doesn’t _______________  wear their hair down low?
Doesn’t _______________  know? Doesn’t _______________  know?

Doesn’t _______________  hate it when the streetlight turns red?
Doesn’t _______________  want five more minutes in bed?
Doesn’t _______________, doesn’t _______________  have a letter to send?
Doesn’t _______________  wish they had just one more friend?

‘Cause _______________  wants, and _______________  needs
_______________  asks for one more piece
_______________  wants to hear someone say please
‘Cause _______________  takes, and everybody steals
_______________ cries when _______________  feels
_______________  is looking for the drug that heals

Doesn’t _______________  wanna take another shot at me?
Go ahead the gun is loaded and the bullets are for free
Doesn’t _______________  spray perfume to cover up a smell?
Doesn’t _______________  know where to go to get some help?

‘Cause _______________  wants, and _______________  needs
_______________  begs for self esteem
Why don’t you get your mind out of the past?
And _______________  takes and everybody steals
_______________ ‘s been kicked by other heels

Please raise your hands up in the air

Oh in the air yeah
Why don’t you raise your, raise your, raise your hands in the air?
Why don’t you raise your hands up in the air?

‘Cause _______________  wants

Doesn’t _______________  know how to walk _______________?
Doesn’t _______________  know what a radio is for?
Doesn’t _______________  wear their hair down low?
Doesn’t _______________  know? Doesn’t anybody know?

‘Cause _______________  wants

 

Somebody to Love

Queen

 

Can _______________  find me _______________  to love?

Ooh, each morning I get up I die a little
Can barely stand on my feet
(Take a look at yourself) Take a look in the mirror and cry (and cry)
Lord what you’re doing to me (yeah yeah)
I have spent all my years in believing you
But I just can’t get no relief, Lord!
_______________  (_______________) ooh _______________  (_______________)
Can _______________  find me _______________  to love?

I work hard (he works hard) every day of my life
I work till I ache in my bones
At the end (at the end of the day)
I take home my hard earned pay all on my own
I get down (down) on my knees (knees)
And I start to pray
Till the tears run down from my eyes
Lord somebody (_______________), ooh _______________
(Please) can _______________  find me somebody to love?

_______________  (_______________)…

 

https://www.englishclub.com/grammar/determiners-quantifiers-some-any-no.htm

Leave a Reply

